Bipolar-Stay Busy! WRITE FOR THERAPY!

I’m learning more and more about Bipolar and it interest me.  Why? I have it.  Yes, I’m admitting I have it.  Before, I couldn’t do that.  I was embarrassed and felt ashamed.  I had a disability and I didn’t want anyone to know.  But then I realized, hey, I have a reason to be crazy. I have bipolar.  It’s not my fault.  It’s a disease just like alcoholism.  The problem with Bipolar is you never know when it’s going to attack unless you learn the triggers.  I’ve been paying attention to this to see what triggers me to drink and what triggers the mania.

I’ve been selected to participate in a study at UT Southwestern on bipolar.  I was so excited when they told me that I was accepted.  I said, “Bless the Lord!”  It may not mean much to someone else, but it meant a hell of a lot to me.  Not having insurance and not having the proper care has kept me in a whirlwind, and now I have a chance.  They started me out on Lithium for 2 weeks and they gave me another pill.  The reason I say that is I don’t know if I’m taking the real thing. Bummer!  The study drug is suppose to stop the craving of alcohol.  It’s been two weeks since I started taking it and I don’t feel any different.  Now, I haven’t drank as much and I think that’s because I have to get up at 4:30am for work till 3:00pm then I go home and work on my business.  So I think I’m on a roll.  Making myself too busy to drink, but I’m afraid that I’ll get burned out and do some binge drinking.  I love my red wine.  Darn! There goes that negative thought.  STOP IT!

I’ve been reading a book by Monica Raminez Basco, PHD, called “The Bipolar Workbook – Tools for Controlling your Mood Swings.”  This book tool that actually gave me confirmation on my disease.  It’s very informative. 

There’s a question – Can bipolar cause depression and mania at the same time?  I would say yes.  For me it’s like being on a roller coaster. One minute I feel high on life and then boom!  If anything upsets me or I get stressed out OR something isn’t getting done – there I go!  I can get mad and feel like I want to tear someones head off. 

Do you think medications are needed to control bipolar?  I really hate taking meds but I’ve been on medicines since I was in my early 20’s.  However, I wasn’t diagnosed with bipolar until it was too late in life that.  Doctors just gave me a prescriptions for Valium, celexa, lexapro or anything that a doctor felt like giving me at the time.  No wonder my body is chemically unbalanced.   That’s why I’m happy about this study.

Yesterday, I was really tired because I woke up around 3am and couldn’t go back to sleep.  I was feeling anxious, tired confused and very disorganized.  I hate feeling disorganized – I can’t find anything and that’s a biggy fo rme.  I can’t take not being able to find something.  Sometimes it gets so back I actually act crazy!  I feel crazy!  It’s like – It was here just a minute ago!  One time I actually blamed a ghost for getting it.  WOW!

I feel you can stop the symptons of bipolar by first accepting and realizing that you have bipolar. Figure out what triggers your bipolar.  Go through the steps to get help by getting on the right medications.  If you have problems with alcohol, which some bipolar cases have, they can help you with that.  There ‘s help out there you just have to look for it.

I’m a firm believer that writing for therapy helps.  You have the opportunity to write out everything that triggers your mania on paper and you can go back and read it and you’ll realize a lot.  I’ve been told that when I’m in mania mode that I talk alot, slur my words, my hands move all over the place, I move real fast, get angry easy and shappy.  I also imagine that people are talking about me.  Being in a room with a lot of people in a small area with a lot of loud talking can drive me loony.

Try writing.  You don’t have to be a professional writer or journalist.  Just be you. That’s why I started writing in blogs.  I write in journals why not a blog.  Let it out – let everyone know what you have and you’re not afraid to tell any one.  Let it out and tell us what pisses you off!  Write it!

4 thoughts on “Bipolar-Stay Busy! WRITE FOR THERAPY!

  1. I’ve been to those dark corrners and it’s not fun. I’ll sometimes feel like I’m crawling out of my skin and just want to run for it. Thanks for your comment and keep writing.

  2. Great advice! I totally agree – writing helps immeasurably for therapy for my Depression. Without that creative outlet I don’t know what I’d do. There’d be way too much stuff just left lurking in the dark corners of my mind, I just know it. Not to mention just the process of writing helps me focus, which is difficult even at the best of times when you have a mood disorder.

  3. I realize you’re in a UT southwestern study now. That wouldn’t prevent you from diet experimentation, would it?

    You might want to check out how my husband, Dave, changed his bipolar mind…www.enjoyingyourhealth.com.

    Warmly,

    Dianne

Leave a Reply

