Bipolar: Side Effects of Effexor

II’ve been reading about the side effects of the antidepressant Effexor XR. I wasn’t very impressed.  In fact, it scared me.  I stopped abruptly taking Zoloft, because the pharmacy would not refill my prescription until I saw my doctor, and I wouldn’t be seeing her for about 9 days.  Gosh, I was so mad about that!  How could they allow me to stop cold turkey. It’s dangerous!  The withdrawals were terrible!  I had dizziness as if my brain was turning over and over even when I was driving.

This is how I felt!

I got an appointment with the doctor and I told her about the Zolft, and she was a little pissed off.  She immediately call the pharmacy.  She told me she was taking me off the Zoloft since I’d been off of it any way, and to try Effexor.  I wasn’t told about any side effects or what would happen if I got off of it.  Then I read other people’s view on Effexor.  I was horrified!  However, I must say it effects every one differently. I’ve had more energy, positive attitude, more mentally challenged, less appetite, creative, and I’m exercising.  Another side effect I’m having is insomnia.  I just don’t want to go to sleep.  I’ll keep a close watch and write in my blog when I have different side effects.

 My little dog had made a terrible mess of himself.  In other words – he stunk!  I put him in the tub and this was very hard on me. I had to sit on my knees, and I have bad knees. Hurt!  Boy do they hurt!   I was getting so out of breathe and started to feel shaky.   When I stood up I became disoriented my hands and body were trembling.  I had to sit down and put my head between my knees – I was feeling faint.  It took a lot for me to get to my bed.  I was deep breathing and still trembling all over.  It was scaring me.

 The time was 1:00 pm and realized I hadn’t taken my medication.  I called out to my mom for help and asked for some orange juice.  I thought my sugar may too low. I’m a little over the diabetic number.  I drank some orange juice and took my medicine and laid still for a few minutes.  I also took an anxiety pill.  I heard anxiety could cause the shaking.

After about 30 minutes I started to feel a little better, but I have know  idea what it was.  Was I having side effects from Effexor, anxiety, stroke or a heart attack?  All I know right now is I’m alive.  I’ll continue taking the Effexor and hope it wasn’t the axe that fell on me. It’s taken so long to find the right combination.  I pray this will be it.

 I’d like to hear from others who are or have taken Effexor

3 thoughts on “Bipolar: Side Effects of Effexor

Leave a Reply

