Best of My Life New Year 2011

My New Year started off really great.  I had my family with me – son, daughter-in-law and two grand children. This is new for me because I have been alone most of my life.  Alone on holidays, birthdays, mother’s days, alone in a single room suffering from bipolar and alcoholism.  Now, God has given me a second chance, and now I’ll get it all.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been out on New Years Eve.  I use to sit on the corner of my red stained couch, fouled smell smokey apartment and drink and usually I was passed out before midnight.  I didn’t go out only to th grocery and liquor store.  No relationships of any kind.  No one every came to see me.  I was alone and no one knew what I was going through.  I just knew I was in pain.

Now, for the time in years I went out on New Years Eve.  The evening couldn’t have been more perfect. I was with my son, daughter-in-law, and my loving  grand children. We went out to eat to a really fun place across from the beach.  Afterwards, we walked along the boardwalk, and beach.  It was absolutely beautiful!   The weather had cleared up allowing for the perfect evening. The boardwalk was lit up with Christmas lights and music transposing a very festive atmosphere.  We could hear the sound of the waves hitting the sandy banks. When you looked up the sky was a glowing dark midnight blue with the brightest stars you have ever seen.  In fact, it’s the first time I’ve seen the Big Dipper, planets and stars in a long time. There was one star that stood out from the rest.  The star was the largest and brightest and was pulsating as if it was alive.  I don’t know why – I felt a calm come all over me. I knew who it was. I just smiled and nodded and said thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

