Bipolar – Delusion or Imagine

 

I often get confused with the two words – delusion and imagination.  But, I get confused all the time that’s why I did some invesgating. The definitions come from the Webster’s Dictionary.

Delusions can be a persistent false psychotic belief regarding the self or persons or objects outside the self that is maintained despite indisputable evidence to the contrary; also: the abnormal state marked by such beliefs.”

Imagination is the act or power of forming a mental image of something not present to the senses or never before wholly perceived in reality – creative ability.

I’ve had an imagination most of my life.  My life was unhappy and felt unloved in most of it.  Using my imagination created a life and a future life for me. My own world.  But, I always felt that my dreams and imagination would be real one day.

I do have delusions when I have one of my manic episodes and it’s pretty scary.  Sometimes I don’t know what is real or is my imagination.  I will say in 1999 while in rehab I started a journal, which I found just the other day.  It brought back a lot of memories, however, there was one page that listed my dreams some would say my imagination.

Since I started medication I see things with a little clarity and have worked very hard for the my dreams to become a reality.  In 2010 those dreams started to become real.

I always emphasize – never stop your medication if your Bipolar.

2 thoughts on “Bipolar – Delusion or Imagine

    • Lady Hawk says:

      Thank you! I don’t know that many bloggers but I guess it’s time. Once I figure this out I’ll get rolling.

Leave a Reply

