Bipolar vs Bipolar

I’m saying that because my close guy friend and I are both Aries and both Bipolar.  Boom!  Yes, two strong personalities trying to get along.  Both feeling they’re right all the time.

It’s funny when we’re together doing our photography shoots we have a great time.  The problem?  Everything ticks him off!  I’ve never seen anything like it.  I thought I was bipolar! He really is!  His a time bomb!  Yesterday, I finally told him to knock it off!   His voice gets louder, plus he has rapid talk (manic).  My head felt like it was going to explode!  I finally put my hands over my ears.  He asked,  “What ‘s the problem?”  “You’re always complaining, and complaining!” I said.  Nobody can do anything right in your eyes.  I couldn’t shut his car door right.  I couldn’t put the strap on my camera right.  “People are so stupid,” he would say.  I keep telling myself it’s his illness that’s all.  I’m very sensitive to noise.  I can’t be in a crowded space with everyone talking at one time. And loud noise really makes me nervous.

This guy can be very nice.  He teaches me so much about digital photography and he helped me get my photos and frames together for the upcoming art show. We use to be intimate, but decided it wasn’t a good idea and just remain friends.   Yesterday I almost told him to get lost.  But, I told myself not to react.  I have a tendency to do that when I get angry and then I regret it.

One positive note is we can talk about our illness together and we understand it.  I can feel comfortable being myself without being careful how I act or what I say.  Because sometimes I can say stupid things without knowing it.

So, what do I do when he rants and complains about what other people do or even what I do?  Ignore him?  Thanks for letting me vent.

3 thoughts on “Bipolar vs Bipolar

  1. This is a GREAT topic. I was friends with two girls in college that ended up being diagnosed as bipolar (wayyyy before my own diagnosis). I could not continue being friends with them because the crazy ended up being too much for me to handle.

    BUT I definitely think it can be addicting to be in an intimate relationship or in a friendship where you can both be manic/hypomanic at the same time. It’s like have the ultimate partner in crime and you two are unstoppable (makes me think of the characters Dean and Carlo in “On The Road” by Kerouac).

    I have a hunch that the free spirited/noncommittal guy I’m sorta seeing has mood tendencies that definitely jibe with my own creating a passionate but unstable relationship.

    • Jewells says:

      Yes, that’s right. We are always craving some kind of love and sometimes we find the wrong kind of love. For me I always find myself in abusive type relationships, since that’s all I know. Every man I meet assume he will be the man of the house, abusive, controlling, and evil. I can’t trust anyone even my own siblings. So I just stay to myself which causes issues to my bipolar. Men caused my problem so why would I want to fall back into that pattern. I’m okay with a guy until it starts telling me how to do something. Do I not have braines to know how to do what your want me to. I want out of here to. I want to run to the nearest sign that says “FREEDOM!

    • Jewells says:

      Right on the money my dear. This guy did something I wasn’t expecting. He has sat up a get together for me tonight for my birthday. I was real surprise. Thanks for your input.

Leave a Reply

