Manic Spending – Out of Control!

When I  go into my manic-depressive episodes I go on a compulsive spending rampage.    The only time I realize it is when I look online at my bank statement.  Today, I looked at it.  I couldn’t believe I much I have spent since the first of the mont!.  My plan after I bought the car is to watch my money!

I only get so much a month on social security disability, and after buying a car my funds are a little limited right now.  This crunched me.  I really do forget to watch my money.  I forget how much I spend that day and even the day before.  I just ignore it assuming everything is okay.    I just hate dealing with it.   If I don’t watch my spending I’ll be in jeopardy.

I tend to go to the grocery store too much.  and I eat out a lot.   My problem is I forget how much money I have and I forget how much I’m spending.

If I can’t just make myself be more aware on my pending.

6 thoughts on “Manic Spending – Out of Control!

  1. I do the same thing. After 8 years of paying a credit consolidation company, I got my debt paid off, except for my student loans. I used to have a dept. store card for every one that I went to, or at least it seemed like it. I swore them off because they got me into trouble, and then last year, I opened an account with one and racked up $800. Then I got an Amazon card through Chase because it mentioned that I could build up points to earn rewards. My husband didn’t know about these, and I wanted to keep it that way. We both have spending accounts. Even though we don’t have much money to spend in our accounts, we opened them so that we could do whatever we wanted with our spending money and not have to question each other. Never did I think I would be using my spending account money to pay credit card bills. I thought if he found out, he would be furious because he has never had any serious credit card debt, or any debt that he hasn’t paid off in a short amount of time. Basically, he’s been smart with his money, but unlike me he doesn’t go on spending sprees. When I do, I tell myself that I will work more hours, or I will sell some old things to pay for new things. I never do any of those things. I just spend.

    I finally told my husband about the accounts because he had to make payments on them for me when I was in the hospital. I told him that I was sorry, and he knew that it was something linked to one of my manic episodes. However, it is not an excuse, but it is so hard to say no to spending if you’ve been doing it for a long time, even when you are on a fixed income. When it is one’s years long habit to spend, spend, spend, it’s like a drug. We will find ways to buy new things and spend some more. When I get the urge, I try to think about doing something else. Lately, I’ve been preoccupied with work and school work for my incomplete that I am finishing up, so I haven’t had a lot of time on my hands to spend money. I also exercise more because I have urges to shop. I guess you could try to substitute the spending with something else, but from someone else who has been there, that is hard to do.

    • Jewells says:

      Wow, I’m so sorry. Your right we will find something to fill our void or our illness. We use these to hide what we really feel. When I get mad at someone all I can think about is getting away. Once, I felt betrayed by my son. When I got home I got on the computer and booked a room for a week at this nice hotel. It made me feel better. It’s like an heroin addict feeding his addictions. I later regretted it and I cancelled it when at a moment in my life that I felt it was too expensive. Once, I went to Austin for a weekend and moved in the next. Shocked a lot of people!

      Thank you so much for your story.

    • Dorsey I havent responded. Yes I believe it’s a sickness. Theres a differential in just spending money. Its the compulsive over spending without even considerating how much you have anyin the bank. To solve my problem I got two credit cards at the same time and now im at my credit line. I even thought id get another one. At this point ive only paid one bill. I have so many bills I can breathe. I do believe its my manic depression that im feeding. I keep begging for help on this but no answer. Good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

