Not Without My Prescriptions You Don’t

3am-cant-sleepI’ve always made sure that I take my Bipolar and my Blood Pressure medications.  I have a fear of what could happen. What kind of withdrawals and anxiety I would get.  Taking your medications for any reason is very important.  It can cause a setback.

On Monday,  February 10th I ordered all of my medications – Lithium, Celexa, Buspirone, Trazodone, and my 3 blood pressure medications.  Because of the weather I wanted to make sure I had them, plus I was out of  four of them.. The main one I wanted to make sure I had been my Trazodone. (Desyrel) I’ve been taking it over 30+ years at night.  Now 61, I was in my 30’s when I started taking it.

I started taking Trazodone because of my panic attacks.  After my abusive marriage I was having panic attacks at night and would wake in the middle of the night sweating and feeling like I was having a heart attack. I was having nightmares every night – usually of someone stalking me.  I grew to have insomnia every night.  I was having a hard time working and maintaining my daily life. I decided I couldn’t take it anymore and went to doctor.  There he gave me the Tradozone. 

I’ve had a fear of not been able to sleep, as well as,  dying in my sleep. Plus, I don’t want nightmares.  Not having my Trazodone this week has put me back in those times of not sleeping. I’ve been staying up till 3 or 4 am in the morning with thoughts of not going to sleep at all.  I checked the mail yesterday and still no medications.  My blood pressure is starting to rise and that’s not  a good thing. I’ve had several mini strokes and those are the ones I try to keep on hand.  Fortunately, I have a supply of Lithium and Celexa.  I have no idea what would happen if I went a week without them and I don’t want to find out.

Maintaining your Bipolar medication is very important to your well-being.

2 thoughts on “Not Without My Prescriptions You Don’t

Leave a Reply

