Am I Bipolar or Not

Please what I’m about to say is not for everyone to try.

For years I’ve been told I had Bipolar – it started when I became very depressed because of a traumatic incident that happen to me. To much was too much for me to handle, so I started drinking a lot then a suicide attempt.  I committed myself to a mental health hospital where I was diagnosed with bipolar.  Was I diagnosed because I was depressed, or because at the time I wanted to end my life?

That was back in 1999 when I was diagnosed with Bipolar.  Is Bipolar just a name they give you if your depressed?  While in the hospital I saw people who truly were bipolar and it was scary.  I never got that way.  They drugged me so much while in the hospital I didn’t know my head from my ass.

Recently, I went to a new psychiatrist,  because I had moved and wanted to get closer to home.  I wasn’t sure I liked him, because he seem so mean.  When I met him he seem to know what was wrong with me before any testing.  It’s because I told him.  He said that the Lithium was not doing me any good on a low dose.  It was hurting me more than anything – killing my kidneys and liver.  Also, I was taking meds that didn’t work together.  He said, I had a dead brain.  He said, I probably had slept apnea since my  neck was thick.  Once again a doctor putting things in my head.  He took me off all my medications except two and my blood pressure medication and put me on Latuda with Celexa.  That combo did not work it made me sick.  So he put me back on my Trazodone that I had been taking for 35 years. It worked.  He scheduled an appointment in two weeks.

I had to tell the doctor that I had forgotten I was leaving to go out-of-town could we reschedule.  Instead of a week he rescheduled me in about a month.  I asked why he said,”well if you cancel I put you back some. Ridiculous!  It was like he was punishing me for changing the appointment. He also threatened that if I did not like his plans, I could go see another doctor.  When I asked for more samples because I was running out – he said, “sorry but I’m going on vacation” and I don’t leave medicines with the front desk.  I was like “I can’t be off my bipolar medication for 2 weeks!”  He just said “sorry”. I was livid and pissed.  How can a doctor talk to you that way by threatening you and trying to control you.  I wrote him an email telling him doctor’s don’t treat their patients that way and I don’t want to see anyone that does.  I never heard from him.

Today, I feel better than I ever had. I actually feel things, my mind is clear, my eyes aren’t blurry, and I sleep better. Oh, I get confused, but that’s my ADD, which I know I have and had since I was born. I feel I was treated for the wrong thing.  THIS, makes me angry going through life feeling like crap by taking the wrong medications.

What I did isn’t for any body – just pick doctors carefully.  The controlling doctor is not what I needed but it did make me think about my future.

(grammar and English are not my strengths)

3 thoughts on “Am I Bipolar or Not

  1. I spent many years very skeptical of psychiatrists after having a really bad one as a teenager. I picked up a habit of walking into their office and treating my initial appointment as a test… there were certain words and attitudes that were big red flags for me and if they said them (or tried to diagnose me before I even spoke) I would leave and wouldn’t go back. While this was helpful in avoiding crappy psychiatrists, it didn’t help me receive treatment for several years. It wasn’t until I was so depressed I couldn’t work that I was desperate enough to be willing to meet someone halfway. Turns out the doctor I ended up with is amazing, a great listener, and very loyal!

    I think ditching a horrible doctor who treats you poorly is a good thing and you definitely deserve some kudos! At the same time… I spent years fleeing situations that might have been helped if I had just advocated for myself better. While I don’t think (your situation) is that, I just wanted to share my experience of how one critical situation with a psychiatrist can overshadow the next potential good one. Good luck!

    • Thanks for your comment. Everyone does have a different story. If I wasn’t 63 years old and been through so many doctors I probably would have another attitude. But I have never had a doctor that would listen or cared about my situation except from the ones I started seeing last year. They changed their system and I couldn’t go there anymore. I can’t tell you how many doctors I’ve been through. I had one that saw me for 30 minutes and charged me for an hour. My luck is is bad in these circumstances. If I find that I start to regress from not taking the medication’s I do my research again. In the meantime, I’ve never felt so good. A good thing can go bad, but I’m praying for the good thing. I’m glad things went well with you.

    • Thanks for your comment. Everyone does have a different story. If I wasn’t 63 years old and been through so many doctors I probably would have another attitude. But I have never had a doctor that would listen or cared about my situation except from the ones I started seeing last year. They changed their system and I couldn’t go there anymore. I can’t tell you how many doctors I’ve been through. I had one that saw me for 30 minutes and charged me for an hour. My luck is is bad in these circustances. If I find that I start to regress from not taking the medication’s I do my research again. In the meantime, I’ve never felt so good. A good thing can go bad, but I’m praying for the good thing. I’m glad things went well with you.

Leave a Reply

