Night Terror in Adults

I'm Scared!

I’m Scared!

I haven’t written in a while for a number of reasons, but plan to catch up.  What I want to talk about is Night Terror in adults.

Lately, I’ve been having realistic nightmares or nightmares that are violent and seem so real.  Along with these nightmares I have bed wetting.  At 63 years old!   It’s been occurring a lot lately and I’m not sure why.   They some of the reasons are from medications, post traumatic stress syndrome, depression, anxiety, and guess what?  I have all of them.

Last night, I was having one of these night terrors and at the same time I was bed wetting.  The nightmare was so real.  I felt that someone had come in the house. I could hear some strange noise like growling or moaning.  I was struggling trying to move and I felt like I was frozen.  I struggled to run when it felt like someone jumped in bed with me.  I looked over me and it looked like someone was under the covers, along with this strange noise.   I finally was able to jump out of bed and I was falling all over the place.  I was able to grab the hallway door to keep from falling.  I had to pee so bad.  I stood in the doorway looking at my bed for more movement then realized there was nothing there. I went to the living room to check the front door and the door stopper was still in place.  So, no, no one came through the front door.

All my nightmares are sleep terrors.  Struggling and running.  Is the overactive bladder  causing the terrors, or are the terrors causing the overactive bladder?  I’ve had to resort to those diaper panties.

I’ve been having these night terror’s almost all my life.  When I was a child I  was a sleep-walker.  My mom found me at the front door grabbing the door knob.  I had real life nightmares about running from monsters, and seeing things that weren’t there.  To this day I think I really did see these things – witch flying across the moon, and someone grabbing my leg in a cemetery.  There was also a burly monster, and when I ran from him.

I was running so fast my feet lifted off the ground and I flew from rooftop to rooftop.  It was crazy.

I don’t know what to do because this is disturbing my life.  During the day I’m so tired and just want to sleep.  Could I have sleep apnea?  I know that at times I can’t catch my breath.  Sometimes I just stop breathing.

What do I do? Well first I placed a call to the sleep clinic to see if I need to have testing.  If you’ve had these problems I would love to hear from you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

