Now Cataracts? I must be getting old!

cataracts12I’m having problems with my eyesight involving, blurred vision, lines, black dots, night blindness, headaches, eye pain, and having difficulty watching TV.  Additionally, light is really hard on me – TV, Computer, and the Sun.  An appointment to see an eye doctor.

Well, I have cataracts, along with dry eye syndrome. I’ll need to drink more water and less caffeine. That means my two cups of coffee will have to go. I was prescribed drops called “Refresh Advance”, for dry eyes, and for night-time, “Refresh PM“, same thing but a gel you rub on the inside of your eyelids. If a doctor prescribes a $200 medication, go for Refresh first.  I’ll evidentially need surgery.

Signs and symptoms of cataracts include:

  • Clouded, blurred or dim vision
  • Increasing difficulty with vision at night
  • Sensitivity to light and glare
  • Seeing “halos” around lights
  • Frequent changes in eyeglass or contact lens prescription
  • Fading or yellowing of colors
  • Double vision in a single eye

At first, the cloudiness in your vision caused by a cataract may affect only a small part of the eye’s lens and you may be unaware of any vision loss. As the cataract grows larger, it clouds more of your lens and distorts the light passing through the lens. This may lead to signs and symptoms you’re more likely to notice.”

Now, this makes me feel really old. They say 50% of adults get cataracts between the ages 64-70 years old, and 70% get cataracts over 75 years old.

Leave a Reply

